Rainy Day Académico!!

It’s a really rainy day here. I’m happily snuggled up in bed with Margarita. The perfect companion –  lots of knowledge to share but doesn’t fart or expect attention!! She’s actually been dead 30 years but her brilliance lives on!

My new Spanish "profesora". Written in the 1950's it's approach is different and to me makes lots of sense focusing on easy to create words from English and not grammar.

My new Spanish “profesora”. Written in the 1950’s Margarita’s approach is different and to me makes lots of sense focusing on easy to create words from English and not grammar.

I discovered this book only a few weeks ago. I discovered cognates ages ago but this book lays out cognates in an easy to understand way and then how to build with them simply. This gives you the tools to try to create Spanish words from you English vocab.I lack Spanish vocabulary so having this tool enables me to expand my vocabulary without having to learn it.

For those who,  like me a few months ago, have NO idea what cognates are  (I didn’t even know there was such a word “cognate” in the dictionary – it’s exactly the same in SPanish = cognate – just with that lovely “acento latino”!!)…..

Cognates are words that can be relatively easily changed from one language to another.

For example, words in English that finish in “-ic” can often be changed into Spanish by making the ending “-ico”. Examples:  traffic – tráfico, metallic – metálico, prolific – prolífico, public – público, organic – orgánico, historic – histórico ……..

Isn’t that amazing!! Suddenly literally thousands of words become possible because of cognates. There are 19 different categories of cognates between English and Spanish. It has given me some tools to give something a go. When I have NO idea of a word in Spanish (which is most of the time) I try to imagine how to change an English word into SPanish. Often it is close enough that if you have an empathetic listener, they will understand. Sometimes you can get it exact – which is exciting! Words without toil!!

Anyway, Margarita is an enticing teacher so its back to snuggling up in bed and cognating a few more words!!

Hasta un otro tiempo (time)  fantástico y nostálgico y dinámico y exótico (pero (but) no paralítico!)……….

Leave a Reply

