End Of My Grassy Week!

Coolatai Grass has continued to entertain and help me at the end of my Grassy Week! Especially with my poo pile.

Yes – I’m s…t…i….l…l  collecting my poo pile which I wrote about in my Poo Pile Lottery post. Rain and lack of enthusiasm due to sore back muscles has delayed me unloading my poo completely. I’ve moved about 5 tonnes of the beautiful  mix. My body isn’t used to such heavy, constant lifting so it’s protesting a bit!! But the prize is toooo fantastic to stop shovelling…….

 

On the shovel again. This is about the 5th tonne that I've unloaded.  SOOOO worth it as the mix is perfect. My plants are going to love this!!

On the shovel again. This is about the 5th tonne that I’ve unloaded. SOOOO worth it as the mix is perfect. My plants are going to love this!!

 

One problem I have is my raised garden beds-to-be are still storage containers for tonnes of sorghum!! And I just couldn’t face shovelling tonnes of sorghum AND THEN tonnes of my poo/straw/soil mix. So I will end up double handling the mix. This is something I avoid but sometimes life happens in unscheduled ways!

 

Hiding in here is sorghum, and one day soon the container will be my raised garden bed!!

Hiding in here is sorghum, and one day soon the container will be my raised garden bed!!

My raised garden beds-to-be are cross sections cut from an old galvanised tank that was lying around (see above). I love it on farms how everything gets recycled in some ingenious way. I find farming folk are SO creative with how they solve issues with what resources are at hand. It is amazing what a bit of wire and wood and bothering can create.

So – Coolatai Grass to the rescue with my shovelling.

When I back Priscilla (the ute) up to the garden fence, there is a gap of about 10cms – because of the side panels of the side panels of Priscilla which fold down. This means a lot of soil can disappear down this gap. I’ve discovered that if I stack the gap with Coolatai Grass I don’t lose much and its much easier for me – and then afterwards I have my evaporation cover there as well.

Coolatai grass being used as "stuffing" between the fence and Priscilla so it was easier for me to shovel.

Coolatai grass being used as “stuffing” between the fence and Priscilla so it was easier for me to shovel.

Another use for the Coolatai Grass is a substitute for cardboard. Since my beds-to-be aren’t ready I need more planting area NOW. I put down a huge wad of Coolatai grass to stop the grass growing then put beautiful soil mix from my poo pile. Instant garden bed!! The fastest lasagna garden bed I’ve ever made.

I’ll be planting it out tomorrow and right now it is raining so getting it all moist for the planting. PERFECT timing!!

Coolatai Grass is just fabulous stuff. I’ll miss it when it all eventually is taken over by perennial pastures – but in the meantime I continue to use it to help my practical endeavours wherever possible. And its just growing everywhere – no shortage of it!!

I love Coolatai grass!!

2 responses to “End Of My Grassy Week!

Leave a Reply

