Coolatai Pony Express

Another of Coolatai’s big annual events besides the Coolatai Tractor Pull is the Coolatai Pony Express.

Coolatai is rural. Country. Therefore “Pony” to me means something to do with horses – maybe smaller ones. So when I heard about the Coolatai Pony Express, I thought it was something to do with horses!!

You can't miss the track signpost!!

You can’t miss the track signpost!! The Entrance to the Coolatai Pony Express. Entrance to the day is free so if you want to come and spectate next year, just roll up. The entrance is 1km south of Coolatai on the LHS (on the road to Warialda).

Nope! It’s Motorcross racing.  No one can give me an explanation as to why a “Pony” race is actually a motorbike race!! One thing I DID find out which seemed to have a relationship to a horse race is that each motor bike had to be checked for “fitness” before the race.

The Coolatai Pony Express is organised by the Moree Motorcross Club each year.

The Moree Motorcross Club runs the Coolatai Pony Express each year.

The Moree Motorcross Club runs the Coolatai Pony Express

The Coolatai race is grouped within a series of motorcross races held in (I think) northern NSW. Ours is held normally around this time of the year – in June. We had the perfect weather this year.

I haven’t been to one of these events before so I wasn’t sure what to expect – after learning not to expect horses that is!!

All the transport vehicles at the track

All the transport vehicles at the track

I’m not into motorbikes in a big way due to lack of exposure over my life really. I have no idea how many ccs anything with two wheels has – except if its powered by a human. Then I know “cc” must stand for “Calorie Consumption” and if it’s my son, who is a professional cyclist in France, the cc number is high. I assume it’s the same for bikes!!

I ended up having a great time there. I helped on the Coolatai Tennis Club’s Refreshments Pavilion for a while but as it was so ably staffed I drifted off and took some photos and chatted to people. I learned lots.

Setting up before dawn in the freezing cold

Setting up before dawn in the freezing cold

The first hungry customers and the first competitors setting up.

The first hungry customers and the first competitors setting up.

The BBQ experts cooking breakfast ready for everyone– Garth and Graham
The BBQ experts cooking breakfast for everyone– Garth and Graham

Two people I chatted two (in my “official” capacity of coffee maker) were two of the officials. Two delightful women, Melita and Wendy, from the Moree Motorcross Club.

Two of the lovely organising officials – Wendy and Melita.

Two of the lovely organising officials – Wendy and Melita.

They were obviously the ones responsible for the administration of the whole race. To me a daunting task. HOW does one keep track of over 80 riders all flying passed continuously for 4 hours? They don’t have RFID tag technology (too expensive) so they do it semi automated with manual backup. I was glad it wasn’t me. I went and made them a cup of coffee as my contribution to recording the speed for the day!!

Watching everyone set up was interesting and SO colourful. As with most sports there is a ton of gear. It looked as if they were going into battle with breast plates and big boots and helmets and goggles!

Rather than try to describe this I will just post some pictures.

My favourite hat of the day – bought in France of course!!

My favourite hat of the day – bought in France of course!!

– And then without my favourite hat – Aussie of course!!

– And then without my favourite hat – Aussie of course!!

MULTITUDE OF BIKES!!

COLOUR GALOUR!!

Ahhhhhhhhhhh………  One thing that I find REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY annoying about living in a rural region is the upload “speed”. I have lots of photos to up load but they are being loaded at 2MB per day it seems. Ahhhhh. I think I will leave this as it is and try tomorrow to post some more when my patience is restored!!!

Sorry – but that’s all today folks!!

9 responses to “Coolatai Pony Express

  1. I love the way you can just take what you find, enjoy it, make the most of it & always be so positive. People can learn a lot from your way of thinking Fiona. Looking forward to more.

    • Thanks for your comments Nene. I’m glad you’re enjoying my blog. I am enjoying writing it and appreciate feedback.

      Life is always full of adventures – we just have to see them as that.

  2. Pingback: Coolatai Pony Express – More Photos | Fiona On The GO·

  3. thats a great review of the event thanks i am 47 and love rideing this series the ponys cater for all ages and level of experiences its a great day and coolatai is one of the better tracks all thanks to allen campbell for that

    • I’m glad you enjoyed the post Carl. It great you are loving riding the Pony Express Series especially “our” Coolatai segment. Maybe see you there next year with some more mates. Good luck with the rest of the series.

  4. Pingback: Coolatai Pony Express Starting Line Photos | Fiona On The GO·

  5. Pingback: Magic Mushrooms! | Fiona On The GO·

Leave a Reply

