Love At The End of A Rainbow!

I went to Byron Bay this week. My friend lives right next to the beach so I was enticed down there at dawn. Byron beach is one of those magical places in the world. Somehow, despite the huge increase in tourism and all the glitz that seems to go with coastal resort tourism, the special energy of the whales and the bay and the beach and the surfers persists – especially now in winter when there are few tourists.

When I peeped into my friend’s room, she was asleep. Bother – we can’t start talking yet!!

The day was overcast so I put on my raincoat, grabbed my camera and a key. I relished the fact I didn’t need shoes – total contact with the earth! With Pachamama. Mmmmm…… something I miss living in the country where there are bindies and prickly things everywhere on the ground forcing me to wear shoes on my soft, whosey feet.

Arriving at the beach I was greeted by the MOST spectacular rainbow – and soon the secondary rainbow became clear. Oh – I feel seeing secondary rainbows is soooooooo special.You know, when the original rainbow (the primary rainbow – violet closest to the earth graduating up to red)  is reflected  to give a fainter secondary rainbow above it with the reverse colours order (red closest to the earth graduating upwards to violet).

A complete double rainbow over Byron - note the reflection in the water too!! How awesome!

A complete double rainbow over Byron (the second one is faint but it can be seen in the top right hand corner – note the reflection in the water too!! How awesome!

It was right over Byron. I couldn’t get far enough away to take the whole perfect arc in one photo – I would have had to go swimming to do that!

Wow – what an amazing way to start the day. I couldn’t decide which photo to put in so I put in lots for me!! A bit ott (over the top but…. it WAS magical!!).

For some reason on Byron beach I have previously found heart shaped rocks. I suddenly thought of someone special in my life and wanted to find another heart shaped rock. I looked down and right there was…… you guessed it….. a heart shaped rock. I love synchronicity!!!

Love at the end of the rainbow!!

Love at the end of the rainbow!!

I then walked down the beach and climbed up this staircase up a rocky outcrop, which took me to a view point overlooking the surfers. It was just great. Watching all these vibrant, energised people sitting on their surfboards waiting for the right wave. Skilled and learners, men and women, long and short boards, skinny and wide boards, wetsuits for all and the best was a granddad and his grandson – soooo kool. Granddad with his pot belly squeezed into a wet suit, balding head,  greying hair, rounded everything paddling and chatting to his grandson – pure muscle, surfy hair mop, tanned, lean, pubescent, skinny legs, adoring eyes for grandpa. How special for generations to be able to share such adrenaline rushes.

Two generations ride the waves together. Special!

Two generations ride the waves together. Special!

Heading out to ride another perfect wave! :

Waiting….. social or solo – it looked fun and I wished I could surf:

It really rained as I turned for home. I zipped my camera in my pocket and dawdled home – checking out the serious erosion issues that this beach has. As I walked passed one tall, unprotected bank which was about 2.5m tall, a huge chunk collapsed. Ouch! Truly active erosion!

Active erosion on the beach. This bit chuck slide into the stream as I walked passed. The plants held on valiantly!!

Active erosion on the beach. This bit chuck slide into the stream as I walked passed. The plants held on valiantly!!

Erosion on the beach:

I felt sooooo happy. Drenched hair, wet legs and saturated trousers (I can’t resist walking in the ocean), cold fingers, warm body, content heart. AND I knew I would go home to buckwheat pancakes (gluten free of course) – this friend ALWAYS makes me buckwheat pancakes with maple syrup, and often with stewed fruit, for breakfast. It’s a permanent order!!

Cost – $0!! Happiness factor – ∞ !!! I just had to walk out the door and find it!! Life is awesome. Rainbows are magical!! How nice to find love at the end of the rainbow!

You can find love anywhere! This was the ripples of the sand in the creek flowing out to the sea!! A PERFECT loveheart was created naturally there.

You can find love anywhere! These are the ripples of the sand in the creek flowing out to the sea!! This is actually UNDER flowing water!! A PERFECT loveheart was created naturally there.

2 responses to “Love At The End of A Rainbow!

  1. You always amaze me with your positive attitude to the entire world. It is so refreshing. Love it!

Leave a Reply

