Truckin’ Chicas ‘n’ Gluten Free Food

Travelling on a gluten free vegetarian diet can pose challenges. Last year I travelled through South America – including Argentina, carne (meat) centro of the Universe. Argentinians eat the most meat per capita of any nation in the world so finding a meal which was meatless was challenging. But never impossible. I’ve survived Africa and South America and Spain. Australia is easy!!

Recently I went on a travelling adventure to pick up some cows. Here’s a second part!!

On the truckin' adventure - on the track to collect the cows.

On the truckin’ adventure – on the track to collect the cows. Note esky (cool box) storer of all yummy foods – in mirror!!

The same goes for trucking and petrol stations in Australia. Most foods available there are deep fried, meat or contain gluten (the sandwiches, the pies, the Chicko rolls). If I’m not dying or in need of comfort food such as hot chips, I usually prefer not to eat this diet. I don’t find it energising and nourishing.

SO…. as a result I take my own food most places. No use complaining about not being able to find something to eat. That doesn’t solve hunger pangs. I either take food with me or I decide I’m fasting – this is much more effective than feeling as if I’m hungry. The hunger just gets worse. If I believe I’m fasting, I feel like I’m on a mini detox which has to be good for me so feel great. I drink more water.

Truckin’ in no different. I assume I won’t find food I would like to eat so I take my own.

This time was no exception.

I wasn’t organised the day before so quickly got together 2 days worth of food in about an hour.

I quickly made home made pesto (basil + garden grown kale and spinach) pasta and roast veges - pumpkin and beetroot.

I quickly made home made pesto (basil + garden grown kale and spinach) pasta and roast veges – pumpkin and beetroot.

First I roast some veges – pumpkin and beetroot as they are delicious at any time. I then put on some gluten free pasta to cook to make pesto pasta. Easy and I can eat this at any time of the day. Great carbohydrates just for stopping the hunger pangs. Lots of nibbles for boredom or temporary hunger! Fruit, nuts, seeds, fruit, rice cakes and nut bars (there are some great gluten free ones now. Many bars have wheat in them to bind the ingredients together.) And buckets of “home grown” water. Our water is just the BEST. Why settle for yucky chlorine water if you don’t have to.

All this was packed into an esky and a calico bag and loaded into the truck.

We were lucky to have dinner at a friends place – one less meal to organise and it’s always nice to have a meal with friends. Somehow a meal tastes better with friends.

All in all, with a tiny bit of initial effort it was easy to organise great food. It’s all about being bothered I think. I’m so glad I’m allergic to gluten as it forces me to be bothered and to eat more consciously.

Bon appétit!!

Gathering the provisions for the trip.

Gathering the provisions for the trip. The big packet of Malteses is stashing away at the back so you can’t see them!!! Breakfast will be gluten free muesli and rice milk. Fruit for boredom munchies!

Making rice cakes on the road.

Making rice cakes on the road. Avocado squashed onto rice cakes then topped with fresh salad leaves and roast veges!!! Yum!

Another meal - salad and roast veges.

Another meal – salad and roast veges. I took the snow peas and coriander cut up as well as the parmesan cheese in pieces. I just had to toss these together in a plastic container with the roast veges and fresh salad. Top with kaffir lime dressing in a jar from home – divine!! The food on the road was great.

3 responses to “Truckin’ Chicas ‘n’ Gluten Free Food

  1. Pingback: You Know You’re in the Country When…. | Fiona On The GO·

Leave a Reply

