Gravel Rash

A fact of the bush here in Australia is you have to drive – often a long way. When I am in Europe and my friends and I have to travel 2 or more hours, I can see the sweat break out on their brows. TWO hours stuck in a car!! They marvel that I regularly drive 5 hours (one way) to Brisbane just to say hi to my kids for a weekend.

Not all roads in the country are sealed. Even when they’re sealed often its as if they have been patched together with asphalt of great diversity.

The gravel roads are even worse. I’m such a cautious granny as I potter along the gravel roads. I’ve seen enough casualty departments in my time being married to a doctor. Slow and cautious – but alive!

A three roll damage!

A three roll damage!

The other day I saw this wreck. A spin out on a gravel corner. It rolled 3 times. It seems as if having the black double reinforced roll bar at the back saved the driver and their passenger. The roof didn’t collapse. The doors popped open in the roll. The windscreen smashed. The front buckled. I can’t imagine what it would have been like to be in the car as all the glass was exploding and the twisting of the metal was happening.

The two occupants walked away unscathed!! Wow!! Time to reassess life and its meaning!

My friend came upon the accident about 10 minutes after it happened. The car still worked!!! So they limped it into my friend’s paddock. These photos were taken when they came back to pick it up.

With some clever thinking from the guys, they managed to get the ute on the truck - the ute was unable to move!

With some clever thinking from the guys, they managed to get the ute on the truck – the ute was unable to move as they had ransacked it for parts when they left before!

Drive safely my friends!!

Leave a Reply

