DangerBoy!!

I have never stood and watched a show before with my hand clasped over my mouth in fascinated horror as someone performs what I consider a dangerous act. Until I saw DangerBoy at Bingara Orange Festival which I posted about previously. He has aptly named himself!

The happy introduction where he suggested one guy press 000 (Australia's emergency number) and have it on hand!!

The happy introduction where he suggested one guy press 000 (Australia’s emergency number) and have it on hand!!

DangerBoy was a feature show at the annual Bingara Orange Festival. He performed 4 acts. And survived which is more than can be said for some of the audience. The attrition rate was high in the first few minutes.

This happy little fairy last less than a minute of action from DangerBoy. She was not alone!!

This happy little fairy last less than a minute of action from DangerBoy. She was not alone!!

ACT One – Swallowing a Whole Balloon

This was pretty neat. DangerBoy blew up one of those modelling balloons and then swallowed it. He gagged a few times (as did some of the audience) but he managed to get it all the way down. He then popped the ballon and pulled the deflated balloon out.

I coped OK with this one. I get the idea we can control our reflexes and that we can train our bodies to accept flexible things into our bodies.

Not yet horrified!!

A full length balloon starting to be inserted!

A full length balloon starting to be inserted!

Gagging slightly!

Gagging slightly!

Balloon all the way down

Balloon all the way down

ACT Two – Insert a HUGE Nail Into His Nostril!

You know when you see kids trying to dig things out of their noses? They are lucky to get to the first knuckle. DangerBoy held up this ridiculously long nail (about 15cms) and said he was going to insert it into his nostril. He proved it was real – real metal, real straight, real hard. Members of the audience confirmed all this for the rest of us!

If you look carefully at the first photo above you can see the nail – he’s pointing with it. It’s big when you consider its going into a nasal cavity!!

Starting to insert the nail

Starting to insert the nail

He then started to insert the nail into his head. After about 5 cms he asked this girl from the audience to HAMMER it the rest of the way in. The girl said she’d never used a hammer before – she back it up in her not so accurate hits of the nail. But she hammered the nail into his head. I couldn’t stop watching – I was transfixed. I couldn’t see any trick or optical illusion possible here. She hammered it so the end disappeared into his nose. Ow!!

He pulled it out all shiny and moist from inside his nose!! 000 was not yet required.

A member of the audience somewhat reluctantly hammering the nail into DangerBoy's nose!!

A member of the audience somewhat reluctantly hammering the nail into DangerBoy’s nose!!

ACT Three – Swallowing Razor Blades and Then Pulling Them Out On a String!!!

I almost forgot to take photos of this one as I was unable to move. I couldn’t believe that someone was doing this – in front of my eyes.

DangerBoy got out a razorblade – the old fashioned type with razor shape sides (!!) on both edges. He proved it by cutting a playing card with it. He THEN SWALLOWED THE RAZOR BLADE!! How do we know he swallowed it? He grossed some poor girl out by making her put her finger in his mouth to check if the blade was there. As she pulled out her saliva covered finger from his mouth (oooowwwwww!) she said it wasn’t there.

A somewhat reluctant assistant assuring the audience the razor blade was not in his mouth.

A somewhat reluctant assistant assuring the audience the razor blade was not in his mouth.

He then swallowed another 4 razor blades. I have to admit at this stage I had my mouth covered in disbelief and concern. How was this possible? If it’s real, the blades HAVE to cut him as he swallows them.

If DangerBoy wasn’t swallowing these razor blades he was doing a VERY good impression that he was. I believed him.

Getting another razor blade out of his jacket!

Getting another razor blade out of his jacket!

Down went the 5 razor blades – oh – they looked so sharp. When I was little my Dad used one of these types of razors – only type available then. Once when we were all travelling I put my hand into the family toiletry bag and got cut by Dad’s razor. I’ve never forgotten that and I’m sure my memory of my sliced finger added to my horror of what he was doing!

Is he REALLY doing this?? The looks on the audience faces tell it all!!

Is he REALLY doing this?? The looks on the audience faces tell it all!!

After the 5 razors he then swallowed a piece of sewing thread – ordinary, black sewing thread – about 50cms long. Why?? We, the audience, weren’t sure.

He swallowed most of the thread except he held on to the end. He then made all these faces, wiggled his stomach, moved a bit, made some more faces then…… started to pull on the black thread.

The initial swallow......

The initial swallow……

Forcing it further down it seemed......

Forcing it further down it seemed……

The final gulp of a razor blade (but its sooo sharp - how can he be doing this??)

The final gulp of a razor blade (but its sooo sharp – how can he be doing this??)

OMG!! Do you know what he was doing?? He was pulling out the 5 razor blades from what looked like inside him. They were all ATTACHED to the piece of string!! As he kept pulling the string another blade popped out – swaying on the thread. It was incredible. I only just remembered to take a photo. I was so anxious and horrified and fascinated and in awe of what I was seeing.

Pulling out a string of real razorblades! It WAS real!!

Pulling out a string of real razorblades! It WAS real!!

Most of the time I had my hand to my mouth and saying to my friend “Is this real?”. (No answer – everyone was focused on this crazy guy eating razor blades!! Morbid fascination!!)

OK – breath – this mad guy is still alive. No blood. And there is more??

Act Four – Lying On A Bed Of Nail and Having Someone Break A Brick With A Sledge Hammer On Your Stomach

This guy’s constitution must be robust!!

I think I’ll just let the pictures tell the story. My heart was still pulsating from the razor blade episode!!

Lying on a bed of nails with the brick on his stomach. DangerBoy giving the sledge hammer wielder instructions!

Lying on a bed of nails with the brick on his stomach. DangerBoy giving the sledge hammer wielder instructions!

The mighty blow which broke the brick while he was lying on a bed of nails on his bear stomach. I hope his mother doesn't know he does these party tricks!!

The mighty blow which broke the brick while he was lying on a bed of nails on his bare stomach. You can see a bit of brick flying off to the left! I hope his mother doesn’t know he does these party tricks!!

Well – that was DangerBoy!! There was a tentative applause – I feel because we were all kind of in shock at what we’d seen. We all hadn’t quite recollected ourselves to give DangerBoy the applause he deserved.

After this it was definitely time for a milkshake at the Roxy Theatre cafe!

The lovely Roxy Cafe in Bingara. Great food and refreshments and period interior design. Worth a visit.

The lovely Roxy Cafe in Bingara. Great food and refreshments and period interior design. Worth a visit.

 

What will there be at the Bingara Orange Festival next year?? Come and find out. See you there!

Hasta pronto……. (until soon……..)

Leave a Reply

