Lighting Up The Darkness!

Beeswax I’m sure should be on the serious addictive drugs list. If there is anything I would like to stay addicted to – it’s the smell of beeswax.

My friends Peter and Anca Meredith have a beeswax candle making business – Happy Flame. I go to smell their beeswax – opps, I mean I go to visit them and to get a “hit”.

Happy Flame lanterns - photo courtesy of happy flame.com.au!!! Thanks

Happy Flame lanterns – photo courtesy of happyflame.com.au!!! Thanks

I went to primary school with Peter. It takes a long time to grow “old” friends so when they work its really important to me to keep hold of them. And I love it when my old friends get together with fabulous partners so I get another newer, but just as special, friend with old connections. It’s kind of like a tree with a graft – I’ve got the old root stock of old friendship and another newer bit gets grafted on making the whole package even better!! I like that. This is the case with Pete and Anca – they grow happiness through their candles. I like to grow and glow with them whenever I can.

I love it when they are busy making candles when I go to visit and I get to help. I feel as if I’m getting a “hit” from some amazing drug as I sit there soaking up the aroma. Ohhhhhhh…… Talk to me about peace and happiness and lllluuuuuvvvvvv…… let me drift out of the reality of politics and creating small business communities and how to support them to ensure local communities stay strong, cohesive and independent (which seem to be some of our regular candle making topics)….. let me drift off from this reality into a beeswax scented reality of bees’ abundance and sweet honey on fluffy gluten free bread and flowers in the garden which are buzzing with bees and other insect who are not threatened by our current toxic chemical use or overseas mites or other imported parasites. I can feel myself relaxing into senselessness!! Ouch – I just poured hot wax on myself – luckily molten beeswax isn’t as burny as molten petroleum based candle wax. I need to remain focused – just a bit!! Controlled drug inhaling!!

Sometimes I get to cut metres and metres of wick -  of course by candle light!

Sometimes I get to cut metres and metres of wick – of course by candle light!

I’ve learned to make what I call “rollies” – Anca calls them birthday candles. I’ve never smoked so I’ve never mastered the art of rolling a cigarette. I’ve sat fascinated watching people get their piece of paper, the tobacco and the tiny filter and manage to roll it all together into a cigarette – what we call in Australia rollies. I’m sure this is one reason I don’t smoke. But now I could as I’ve learned to roll beeswax candles!! (Just kidding – I love my life and don’t need any MORE stimulation – I have more than I can handle without nicotine!). It’s so much fun. Want to try? Order your experience here!

Here are some HUGE rollies (I only do the little ones - these monsters take REAL skill and experience to get them just perfect!). Don't they look nice!

Here are some HUGE rollies (I only do the little ones – these monsters take REAL skill and experience to get them just perfect!). Don’t they look nice!

Afterwards I don’t wash my hands as the suggestion of beeswax lingers on my fingers – I can have a let down hit later!!

Their house is always filled with candles burning and kids and dogs and confusion and change and inspiration – it’s happy. I feel having these candles burning around you can honestly make you feel happier. There are reports 100% beeswax candles ionise the atmosphere which I don’t really know about. My “scientific” experiment is that I simply feel good. That’s enough “evidence” for me – being warmed in many ways and feeling like I have inspiration on tap – I mean on wick – convinces me!

Earlier this week there was this naughty little, well big actually, wallaroo inside the garden eating the grass near my love heart shaped veggie patch which I am renovating. He was happily munching away at the fresh grass. I was watching him with my lantern in view too so I decided to take a photo – it was this photo which inspired this blog as I think it’s so cute!!

Excuse me Wallaroo but you're sitting on my garden!! Looking out my bedroom window.

Excuse me Wallaroo but you’re sitting on my garden!! Looking out my bedroom window.

This morning as I sat down to write it was dark. I woke up at 4.30am – I felt like I’d had enough sleep so I got up to write. It’s cold in my study in winter. I’m right down the end of the house so at this time of the morning it’s chilly. I wrap up like a mummy in a blanket, put on my beanie (warm wooly hat!!) and, MOST importantly, light my Happy Flame candles.

I light two usually – my handmade lantern made of 100% beeswax and what they call a Byron light – a tall, straight candle which burns forever without dripping or drowning or stopping (watch it at the end as naked flame on glass can crack the glass candlestick)!

I love my  lantern the most I feel. I love the warm glow of it – a beeswax votive sits inside the lantern and physically warms the whole lantern – which is hand made from beeswax so guess what!! I get a druggie hit every time I light my lantern. The votive smells of earthiness and then it warms the lantern which also then smell warm and earthy and inviting so I get a double hit of happiness!

My beeswax lantern glowing in the dark on my study desk. I love it so much.

My beeswax lantern glowing in the dark on my study desk. I love it so much.

My Byron light I like too as it I can see the “Happy Flame” – I love watching the flame dancing and flickering (I live in an old farm house with LOTS of opportunities for breeze to drift through!!). Sometimes when I am pondering something I just watch the flame and sink into it and my problem/ thought/ idea/ feeling. It helps me expand into what is going on in my mind and to relax. The candle flame seems to help the whole process especially before dawn where it illuminates the darkness.

My Byron Lighthouse - shining inspirational vibes on my messy study table!

My Byron Lighthouse – shining inspirational vibes on my messy study table! The postcard of Spain is a guilty reminder that I am not practising my Spanish enough!

If you become addicted to beeswax too, please feel free to invite me to a “snift and driff” party (Or should that be “sniff and drift”?).

If your around Brisbane, Lismore, Mullumbimby, Byron or the net, check Happy Flame out at the markets they go to!! Invest in happiness – it’s easy and feels soooooo good.

Here’s to more inspirational flames and friendship!!! Thanks for creating so much addiction, I mean happiness, in my life Pete and Anca (and your lovely team)!  Besos xxxxx (for the humans!!)

"Who me? Coming into the garden and eating? I'll only eat the grass. I promise!".

“Who me? Coming into the garden and eating? I’ll only eat the grass. I promise!”.

5 responses to “Lighting Up The Darkness!

  1. Aaaahhh!!!! The Beeswax addiction – had it for years, left Sydney and moved to Byron – found it at the Byron markets – peter and Anca make the best in the NR.!

    • Another addict!! I bet being in Byron you just have a “Byron Light” candle on all the time. I light mine as soon as I wake up and keep it on until after dawn or when I head for the paddocks.

      Happy drifting on a beeswax high!!

      xx

  2. Pingback: Going to the Big Smoke! | Fiona On The GO·

Leave a Reply

