You Know You’re In The Country When…..

…… you can forage your entire breakfast from the paddocks and the garden.

It’s Friday so time for my “You Know You’re In The Country” segment – a post about something which, for me, relates specifically to the country.

I went to visit the grass trees (before my unexpected rescue mission!!) and there I found some fresh stinging nettles (in Spanish “ortiga”). I picked them and took them home for breakfast. I feel stinging nettles aren’t given the credit they are due. Just because they can sting seems to make them unuseful. (You can psych yourself out of them stinging you too; mostly. If I’m in the right head space I can pick them without any or much effect. Which is handy when your in the paddock and see fresh nettles you want to take home to eat!). Historically, before flax and linen, because stinging nettles are so fibrous, they were used to make cloth and rope. I use them in compost teas for the garden too.

My freshly picked stinging nettles. They are purported to be a good blood purifier.

My freshly picked stinging nettles. They are purported to be a good blood purifier.

Carrying the nettles home in the MOST hygienic way!! In the quad bikes carry all with electric fence testers, pliers, wire, insulators, water......

Carrying the nettles home in the MOST hygienic way!! In the quad bikes carry all bag with electric fence testers, pliers, repair wire, insulators, water, found rusty fencing wire…… extra mineral sources!!

(Sometimes we are lucky enough to find fresh field mushrooms – they are totally the best. The flavour is nothing like shop mushrooms! This photo is for a couple of weeks ago so I didn’t have any for breakfast this time. Boo Hoo!!).

Field mushrooms - yum!

Field mushrooms – yum!

I’d let the chooks (chickens) out before I left so went and collected some eggs – they hadn’t been collected for 3 days.

Finding one stash of eggs - behind the bags of salt!

Finding one stash of eggs – behind the bags of salt!

It doens't matter where its lain - these eggs are just the best - if you can find them! These chooks DO have nesting boxes but they choose to be more adventurous!

It doens’t matter where they’re lain – these eggs are just the best – if you can find them! These chooks DO have nesting boxes but they choose to be more adventurous! The bottom egg was still warm. Fabulous!

Then I picked some kale, spinach, and a little parsley.

Yum - fresh kale and spinach just waiting to be picked.

Yum – fresh kale and spinach just waiting to be picked. Doesn’t it look full of B vitamins!! A few insect holes which means its good enough for an insect so its good enough for me. No chemicals here!

I ripped all the leaves up then washed them all with our great rain water from the tank – just to get the dust off.

Breakfast gathered - ready to cook.

Breakfast gathered – ready to cook.

All I had to do now was cook it all. I put everything into one frying pan. The egg whites stay together – they don’t run everywhere like shop eggs. You don’t need egg rings to keep them in form.

100% GO grown!! Look how firm those eggs are - no runny whites and the green will just wilt slightly. I try to retain as many vitamins as possible - without testing fresh stinging nettles on my lips - my hands are fine with them but my lips?? I think I'll kiss a frog instead!

100% GO grown!! Look how firm those eggs are – no runny whites and the green will just wilt slightly. I try to retain as many vitamins as possible – without testing fresh stinging nettles on my lips – my hands are fine with them but my lips?? I think I’ll kiss a frog instead!

It is so satisfying to pick and then cook your own breakfast. Sometimes I grate a little lemon zest into the greens – still homegrown.

I made a pot of delicious chai then sat to watch the birds in the bird bath.

Double barred finches in the bird bath just outside the dining room window. At one stage there were 11 of them bathing together!! They were SO cute - water was going everywhere and these are teeny tiny birds!

Double barred finches in the bird bath just outside the dining room window. At one stage there were 11 of them bathing together!! They were SO cute – water was going everywhere and these are teeny tiny birds! Reality TV!!

Life is great in the country!

¡Hasta la vista! (See you later!)

Leave a Reply

