Birthday memories!

Recently it was my birthday – hence my lack of posts!! Busy being spoilt!! I coped!!! I loved it.

It is exciting to reflect on where I have been for my last few birthdays.

When I turned 48 I was in Brisbane, Australia renovating my home. My youngest was still at school. I had taken the biggest step of my life and made myself “self-unemployed”. Scary not having a job and income coming in but having a huge mortgage and children who I was responsible for and a stomach and car which needed to be filled. I was renovating my house – without having a clue what I was doing!! I survived to tell the tale!! (Can’t find any photos of this era!!)

When I turned 49 I was in Manchester in England visiting my aunt who was dying. She had been my saving grace when my son was born. I remember talking to her on the phone one day a few weeks after my son was born. My husband worked crazy hours. I had been a high powered corporate junkie and was now trying to deal with lack of sleep and nappies without any local support. I wasn’t coping. I cried on the phone. 2 hours later my auntie rang me. She had hopped on the train in London and was now ready to be picked up from my local train station in northern England. She stayed for the weekend doing all the night shifts bring my baby in for a feed and then allowing me to go back to sleep. I turned a corner that weekend. I knew I was not alone. We have so many memories together so I went to say good-bye and thank you to my lovely aunty Lilian.

Me at Glastonbury Tor, Somerset, England just before my 49th birthday - wishing I could fly!!

Me at Glastonbury Tor, Somerset, England just before my 49th birthday – wishing I could fly!!

When I turned 50 I was climbing Mt Kilimanjaro, Tanzania (5,895m, nearly 19,340ft). We started the final assault on my birthday. It was a full moon. What a way to turn 50!! Breathless due to the lack of oxygen and on top of the world!!

Fabian, me and Alex at the summit of Mt Kilimanjaro!! Wow - what a challenge. What a personal achievement to got there - thanks to the support and encouragement from these two wonderful Tanzanian men!!

Fabian, me and Alex at the summit of Mt Kilimanjaro!! Wow – what a challenge. What a personal achievement to got there – thanks to the support and encouragement from these two wonderful Tanzanian men!!

This is probably the most special cake I will ever receive in my life. It is gluten free. It was created on a hot plate up Mt Kilimanjaro. Vincent the cook didn't know before hand it was my birthday. Gluten free cakes are SO hard to make in a kitchen - let alone a freezing tent without the right ingredients. The decoration was made from strawberry jam thinned with milk. HOW ingenious was that!! I cried when 20 Tanzanian men walked out behind Vincent singing Happy Birthday. A special moment in my life.

This is probably the most special cake I will ever receive in my life. It is gluten free. It was created on a hot plate up Mt Kilimanjaro. Vincent the cook didn’t know before hand it was my birthday. Gluten free cakes are SO hard to make in a kitchen – let alone a freezing tent without the right ingredients or an oven. The decoration was made from strawberry jam thinned with milk. HOW ingenious was that!! I cried when 20 Tanzanian men walked out behind Vincent singing Happy Birthday to me. A special moment in my life.

 

When I turned 51 I walked into Santiago de Compostela, Spain. I’d walked 340km of the Camino de Santiago via el Camino Primitivo to get there (the so called Pilgrimage of St James in northern Spain. I walked the “original”/ interior route over the mountains of Asturias and Galicia). My last day of being 50 was spent walking 42kms. It’s the furthest I had ever walked in a day especially with a backpack that held all my trekking provisions. I thought I was going to die – or sleep forever. I was exhausted after walking our marathon (a marathon is 42kms!!). But I survived to walk into Santiago on my birthday and then another 30km to the coast the next day!

51 in Santiago, Spain!

51 in Santiago, Spain! With my boots and only a couple of blisters. I fared well!!

And this year, when I turned 52, I was camped in a swag under the stars at the Centre of the Universe – The GO, the farm I live on at Coolatai, NSW, Australia. I only had to walk about 30m (in my slippers) to the orchard, to a swag which was all set up before dark. There was plenty of oxygen as The GO is at about 400m. It was cold (winter still here) so no threat of reptilian visitors and no mosquitoes!

Maybe I’m becoming complacent in my old age as there was no effort required!  It all seemed very easy – too easy! But oh – soooooo wonderful. The stars were amazing. We were just passed the New Moon so there was virtually no moonlight – it was dark with a gizillion stars sparkling. And shooting stars. Lots of opportunities to make wishes!

I was given a tiara for my birthday so I became a Princess for the night!! AND I was given this very special present - the bark from a huge Yellow Box tree from a friends' farm. It has a beautiful story behind it which I might share with you one day.

I was given a tiara for my birthday so I became a Princess for the night!! AND I was given this very special present – the bark from a huge old Yellow Box tree from a friends’ farm. It has a beautiful story behind it which I might share with you one day.

Swag in the orchard at dawn on my 52nd birthday!!

Swagging it in the orchard at dawn on my 52nd birthday!!

I wonder where I’ll be next year for my birthday!!

10 responses to “Birthday memories!

    • We missed you being there. I had such a nice time with my new found royalty!! Wands are such deadly things – you can zap anything and everyone. I zapped one toad and he became a prince!! Pretty kool!!

      xx

  1. Knowing you, the next one will be somewhere on the planet – unless you manage to organise an orbit of the earth in a rocket plane……. Glad you had a good night – but the swag fits only one – or was it a tight fit for two!!!!!!

    Cheers,

    Nick Barton

    From The Soil Up

    ABN: 60 271 396 685

    Triggervale, 370 Old Bundarra Rd

    INVERELL NSW 2360

    W: 0267215111

    Mob: 0428 687 209

    Fax: 0267214159

    nick@fromthesoilup.com.au

    http://www.fromthesoilup.com.au

  2. Oh Princess Fiona, really know how to live life & enjoy it. Truly amazing! I am glad you enjoyed your night under the stars, I do miss the stars living in the city.

    • Thanks Paul. Isn’t it fabulous getting older! Gravity takes over so there’s this whole section of your being you no longer have to worry about. You just have to worry about all the fun bits – like waving a wand – I’m sure I could get RSI from waving a wand – it’s fun!!

  3. Pingback: Under the Stars Again! | Fiona On The GO·

  4. Pingback: Riding Solo! | Fiona On The GO·

Leave a Reply

