Full Moon On Fire

Yesterday it was the August full moon.

I was madly driving back to Coolatai to a singing bowl concert by the full moon. I was Oming hard that I wouldn’t meet any roos (kangaroos).

Then I saw the full moon rising – a HUGE golden, orange orb rising over the horizon in between the eucalypts. WHAT a spectacular sight!

The full moon rising. Our eyes must create an optical illusion as the moon looked so much bigger and much more orange than this photo shows.

The full moon rising. Our eyes must create an optical illusion as the moon looked so much bigger and much more orange than this photo shows.

I turned 180 degrees. On the other side of the road the sun was still visible.

I turned 180 degrees. On the other side of the road the sun was still visible.

Further on I saw a huge fire on the horizon – a chaotic blaze of smoke and fire next to the perfectly symmetrical, calming moon.

On the right the natural, symmetrical moon and on the left, the blazing irregularity of a bush fire.

On the right the natural, symmetry of the moon and on the left, the blazing irregularity of a bush fire.

Still further I could again see the bush fire (which may have been burning off but I call it a bush fire as so many small creatures are killed and all the plants of the bush are fired).

Windmill, full moon and fire - what a spectacular combination!

Windmill, full moon and fire – what a spectacular combination!

This time there was a windmill. How I love windmills. My camera is not very good. I have NO control over the focus so I was really happy to finally get this photo of the full moon silhouetting this windmill. It looked amazing.

A windmill near Coolatai silhouetted by the August full moon. Stunning.

A windmill near Coolatai silhouetted by the August full moon. Stunning.

2 responses to “Full Moon On Fire

  1. It was pretty special, wasn’t it. I was driving to Emerald from Dalby last night, and this “fire” was rising over the eastern horizon – was absolutely brilliant once it had fully emerged from the horizon. And as I was driving through hills, it would keep on playing “hide & seek” with me, until the hills couldn’t hide it any longer,

    Cheers,

    Nick Barton

    From The Soil Up

    ABN: 60 271 396 685

    Triggervale, 370 Old Bundarra Rd

    INVERELL NSW 2360

    W: 0267215111

    Mob: 0428 687 209

    Fax: 0267214159

    nick@fromthesoilup.com.au

    http://www.fromthesoilup.com.au

    • Sunset is such a fabulous time to be traveling isn’t it Nick. I’m always a bit anxious about the roos at sunset going home but the setting sun, the moon rising and now the burn off fires make it all spectacular. I am totally in awe of the changing colours – constant changes and the blend of colours extraordinary.

Leave a Reply

